Alan Whitehouse's Ramblings

Continuing to work until my heavy investment in lottery tickets finally pays off….

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Deep Thought

    Historically speaking, all true change in the world has come thanks to leaders emerging, them taking charge and giving the masses someone to rally around. Can an intentionally "leaderless" movement survive or will it just slowly fade away?

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 19 other followers

  • Me!

  • Disclaimer

    The views expressed in this blog, while intelligent and always right, are strictly my own, and do not necessarily reflect the views of anyone else with which I am in any way affiliated. And don't forget, I own the rights to all information on this blog (except for the stuff I stole from other people).
  • Current Rant

    *START OF RANT*

    You want change, then get involved. Vote, run for office, go to shareholder meetings and contact advertisers or investors. Sitting around banging drums, singing kumbaya, smoking weed and having a camp out under the stars is not going to get you the change you want.

    *END OF RANT*
  • Admin Stuff

Microsoft All-Up BI Demo Image X Available

Posted by Alan on April 1, 2011

So over at the Microsoft Online Demo Solutions site there is a new download available.  It is entitled Microsoft All-Up BI Demo Image X.  I am downloading it now and have been so for the past couple days.  I am hoping that this new image will be a big step forward from the poorly done 9.2 image.  Only time will tell.  And it will take time because the site that hosts the download for the demo is unbelievably painfully slow.  Not to mention the fact that it is a 40+ part download and the site does not use a download manager.  That means clicking and downloading 40+ separate files, any one of which can die mid-stream.  We gave Orbit Downloader a try to help out and it improved the process somewhat but it is still a pain.   I hope to have it downloaded sometime this morning and then we will see how smoothly the unzipping process goes.  With the 9.2 image I have to re-download multiple sections due to errors.   As soon as I can get it running I will post my thoughts.

UPDATE 1:  The image finally downloaded and we got it all unzipped.  It is running on a Hyper-V server in my office and I finally tried to access it this morning via my hotel internet connection (I am on the road right now).  Didn’t have time to play with it much as the hotel connection was running at about 14.4 baud modem speed but the  opening landing page is total eye candy and will be great for first impressions.  No idea how good the data is yet, hopefully will get some time tomorrow to really dive deep.

3 Responses to “Microsoft All-Up BI Demo Image X Available”

  1. denglishbi said

    Interesting and I know Russell Christopher had tweeted about this. I hope it is better than the previous one that was so bloated and just did not perform at all. Hopefully the BI demos and dashboards are a little nicer as well:) Another tool to check out for downloading is – http://freedownloadmanager.org/. I still see the old release available on the Partner site, hopefully that will be update in the near future.

  2. SearchForDemo said

    Hi, where can I download the image? I can only find the link to start the demo online… any hints?

Leave a Reply

 
