Alan Whitehouse's Ramblings

Continuing to work until my heavy investment in lottery tickets finally pays off….

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Deep Thought

    Historically speaking, all true change in the world has come thanks to leaders emerging, them taking charge and giving the masses someone to rally around. Can an intentionally "leaderless" movement survive or will it just slowly fade away?

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 19 other followers

  • Me!

  • Disclaimer

    The views expressed in this blog, while intelligent and always right, are strictly my own, and do not necessarily reflect the views of anyone else with which I am in any way affiliated. And don't forget, I own the rights to all information on this blog (except for the stuff I stole from other people).
  • Current Rant

    *START OF RANT*

    You want change, then get involved. Vote, run for office, go to shareholder meetings and contact advertisers or investors. Sitting around banging drums, singing kumbaya, smoking weed and having a camp out under the stars is not going to get you the change you want.

    *END OF RANT*
  • Admin Stuff

Back in the Saddle

Posted by Alan on July 19, 2009

Howdy all,

It has been a while but I am back.   While we have been rebuilding our B.I. practice and trying to get lost and cold leads all ramped up again, I have been working on a couple of Dynamics GP implementation projects.  However, last week we began our first Clarity implementation.  We have done our analysis and design sessions with the client (a large financial institution based in Toronto) and now we begin our requirements document and once we have sign-off we begin the actual design.  All leading up towards a September 1st go-live.  It is going to be a wild ride.   But all I can say is WHOOO HOOOO as after 6 months I am finally back in the B.I. game!

At the start of last week I also attended some more advanced Clarity 6 training.  It was interesting comparing Clarity to PerformancePoint Planning.  Clarity has (for the most part) all the bells and whistles, from an end-user point of view, we had wished were native to PPS.  All the stuff that caused us to bang our heads against the wall (i.e., input validation, note aggregation/roll-up with row and cell level notes, add lines on the fly, etc.) is there.  It is the stuff we figured Microsoft would have added in v2 and v3 of PPS.   However, what I am now missing is how automated and easy the database and cube creation process was within PPS.  The creation process is a manual one within Clarity.  Because of that, expect me to get much better in creating databases and analysis cubes and using Visual Studio.  I will post what I learn. 

I hope to get back to the once per week posting schedule.

5 Responses to “Back in the Saddle”

  1. bruce bitterman said

    Hi I’m a newbie to PerformancePoint and appreciate any assistance. Our system was set up and used last year. What config type things do I need to set up to use it this (new) fiscal year? Someone told me I need to create new scenarios for Actuals, Budget and Forecast for this year and can not re-use those set up last year – that doesn’t make sense to me. Thanks,
    BruceBitterman@msnhealth.com

  2. Alan said

    Hi Bruce,

    Tough for me to say without knowing your actual design. However, it all comes down to how far into the future you were entering budget and forecast data last year. So in 2008, if you entered data into the Budgeting or Forecast scenarios for 2009, 2010, 2011, etc., then if you go into the system today and select/use those scenarios for the next budgeting round you will find that they currently have last year’s values in them. So you will either need to clear the data out of them, or if you want to keep them for use in reporting, then I would suggest you create new scenarios (i.e., prior period budget, prior period forecast, etc.) and use a backend rule to move last year’s data into them.

    I hope this helps.

  3. markymark said

    HI Alan

    I’m wondering what MSoft’s strategy is for PPS 2007 going forward. The partner that I work with said they don’t want to start any PPS projects since they are concerned about support from MS. we just purchased SharePoint enterprise CAL’s which gave us access to PPS and ProClarity, and now our partner is pushing back from us implementing this solution.

    Is there any reason NOT to install and implement PPS 2007? I understand MS is going to include this functionality into SharePoint 2010 but I really don’t want to wait that long since I think PPS is a great tool, but I also don’t want to waste a lot of time and $$ implementing a solution that will ‘go away’ so to speak.

    Do you have any info regarding this strategy for PPS and the transition to SharePoint 2010?

    thanks
    Mark

  4. Alan said

    Mark,

    I wish I had a crystal ball to predict the future. If I had one, I could have saved myself a whole lot of stress and frustration over this whole PPS thing in the first place.

    That being said, I do think Monitoring and Analytics is something that Microsoft will be working with in the future. Microsoft is committed to B.I., but they are not committed to CPM as they will freely admit. I think PPS M&A is coming along nicely and am excited about what it will offer next year along with the release of Gemini. A lot of partners got burned and are confused or worried about making a wrong decision again, so I am not surprised your partner might be pushing back.

    If you think about it, you already own the software since you have the SharePoint E-cal. Your costs are just time and services from a partner if you need them. You might want to pursue a pilot project of PPS in SharePoint and see how you like it.

    As for the 2010 migration, I am told everything will move over from the current environment. My actual believe will be to expect about 80% to come over without problem, 15% to need to be tweaked somehow and about 5% to have to be recreated.

  5. Roy10 said

    They must be addressed in hours, not days. ,

Leave a Reply

 
