Alan Whitehouse's Ramblings

Continuing to work until my heavy investment in lottery tickets finally pays off….

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Deep Thought

    Historically speaking, all true change in the world has come thanks to leaders emerging, them taking charge and giving the masses someone to rally around. Can an intentionally "leaderless" movement survive or will it just slowly fade away?

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Me!

  • Disclaimer

    The views expressed in this blog, while intelligent and always right, are strictly my own, and do not necessarily reflect the views of anyone else with which I am in any way affiliated. And don't forget, I own the rights to all information on this blog (except for the stuff I stole from other people).
  • Current Rant

    *START OF RANT*

    You want change, then get involved. Vote, run for office, go to shareholder meetings and contact advertisers or investors. Sitting around banging drums, singing kumbaya, smoking weed and having a camp out under the stars is not going to get you the change you want.

    *END OF RANT*
  • Admin Stuff

Sign of the Apocalypse — I’m a Microsoft MVP

Posted by Alan on April 1, 2009

I got the email this morning congratulating me on being awarded the MVP designation from Microsoft.  I am now a SQL Server MVP.  Whoa!

So why SQL Server when all my knowledge and contributions were pretty much based around PerformancePoint Server?  Damn good question.  As I understand it, a group of us were nominated in the PerformancePoint Server category and in the queue prior to Microsoft deciding to discontinue PPS as a stand-alone product.  However, since the awards are “product based” when PPS went away they had to put us somewhere.  I am guessing that since PPS was a business intelligence product they figured it made the most sense to put us under the product that is platform that delivers BI for Microsoft — SQL Server.  If you think about it, anyone who successfully implemented PerformancePoint (Planning or M&A) had to deal with SQL or SSAS on a regular basis.  I am sure others might make a case that SharePoint would have been the better choice.  Who knows.

I would be remiss if I didn’t thank a few others here at TGO Consulting for all their hard work.  Shout outs are in order for Grantley, Richard and most definitely Jerry.  All of them work on PerformancePoint with me and their knowledge and experience has contributed to my own.   

Finally a big thanks to those clients who took a leap of faith on PerformancePoint.  Without their “unique” needs as a driving force, I never would have been driven to learn PerformancePoint to the degree I did. 

I am still wading through the materials that cover all the benefits of being an MVP.  What jumped out at me is that I think the award entitles me to stay free at Bill Gates’ house whenever I visit the Seattle area.  I could be reading things wrong though.  Can anyone confirm this for me?

4 Responses to “Sign of the Apocalypse — I’m a Microsoft MVP”

  1. Congratulations Alan!

    Certainly well-deserved and frankly somewhat overdue!

    All the best,
    AD

  2. PeterEb said

    Actually on benefits you get your choice:
    1) my hovel
    2) kenny g’s former airstrip
    3) bill g’s guest house*

    *you may have to provide tech support, which of course for bill means migrating the guest house servers from sql 2008 to kilimanjaro for dogfooding. fyi the services that provide oxygen (of course the guest house is hermetically sealed) run off these servers, so downtime must be minimized.

    So assuming no april fools, congratulations!

  3. Alan said

    Adrian and Peter thank you both.

    And Peter I can’t imagine anything more random than a “Kenny G” reference in a Microsoft related post. 😉

  4. Gangster56 said

    Which I must say, is not always the case after fighting. ,

Leave a Reply

 
